Disney, Jesus and The End of Every Tear

Fantasyland in Disneyland Paris is designed to be picture perfect. Domincated by a pink castle, immaculate lawns and colourful flower beds. There is lots of talk of Disney Magic and many families trying to attain the “perfect” day out.
The longest queue that we saw was to meet a Disney princess. Already over 2 hours long in the early morning. A line looping around the park of children in princess dresses, excitedly waiting. And unperceived by most, at the side door there is another entrance, with a much shorter queue, for children holding a disabled pass. The families in this queue know that just because you have entered Disneyland, everything in the world has not suddenly been made right.

Hannah, Star and I were ushered into a room to meet a beaming Snow White. Even the most hardened anti-Disney, grumpiness would have been melted away by the smiles of my two daughters. Snow White spent so much time treating Star like a princess that she beamed. Later in the day, while watching the Frozen parade – Anna riding high in the carriage of Arendelle turned to the disabled seating area. She spotted a little girl with Down syndrome dressed as Anna, excitedly waving her plush Anna and Elsa toys at the procession and shouting “Elsa, Anna.”Anna pointed her out to Elsa and they waved back, then Anna mouthed to Star – “I love your dress.” For a moment, some Disney Magic had landed on us. Star had been noticed and complemented by someone special. She was absolutely thrilled.

During our stay we kept passing areas boarded up with signs reading, – “we are refurbishing the Disney Magic ready for your next visit.”

All this got me thinking, of a place, the true home of the Christian:

Where good things do not perish, spoil or fade, (or need to be boarded up for refurbishment)

There are no theives, there is no night.

There is no mad scramble to get to magic hours, or to find the correct meal pass.

There is no death, mourning, crying or pain – because those things have passed away.

One day, we will enter a city whose streets are paved with gold, down the centre runs a river of the water of life and the tree of life has leaves for the healing of the nations.

This city does not need a light because God is the light and there is no temple to meet with God, because God dwells in this city.

And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.    Revelation 21:3-4 NIV

Did you notice, the promise about tears?

“God will wipe every tear from their eyes.”

Please note what this does not say:

God will not banish all tears from heaven

God will not employ a team of specially trained tear-wiping angels with unending supplies of tissues.

It does not say, God will wipe away a proportion of tears, representing the many tears in the world.

No
God himself, will wipe every tear from their eyes.

Have you ever had someone wipe away your tears?

Think how close and intimate that this.

If God is going to wipe away my tears, he needs first to see me and my tears.

Unlike Disneyland Paris, I will not need to whisper my name to an attendant as I enter God’s presence.  God knows my name. He saw me as I was formed in my mother’s womb and he has numbered the hairs on my head.

As I wait to meet him, I will not have to rush to claim a timed spot or have a mad scramble to find the correct pass. I am able to enter the presence of the King of glory, trusting in the blood of Jesus, shed for me on the cross.

And he knows my tears, every one:

And promises to wipe them away for ever.

7 thoughts on “Disney, Jesus and The End of Every Tear

    1. Thank you so much for reading and commenting. And do you know as soon as a realised this I could enjoy Disney more because I remembered the best is yet to come. I don’t have to worry about creating prefect now – it would be impossible to do so – God has got future perfection covered.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

