The Liebster Award

Thank you to Good, beautiful and true for the nomination. Please visit Cymbrie’s wonderful blog for inspiration and encouragement to find things that are Good, beautiful and true. I am particularly looking forward to Tuesdays when she will be hosting Poetry Teas.

11 Questions from Good, beautiful and true:
1. Your favorite quote?

“Why do you look for the living among the dead. He is not here, he is Risen.” Luke 24 v 5-6.


2. Why did you start your blog?

I started writing my blog about a year after Star joined our family through adoption. It was quite a year! I write mainly to process my thoughts and to reflect on what God has been teaching me. I also hope our story is an encouragement to others.
3. What is your favorite blog and why? (Please provide a link.)

A New Name by Emma Scrivener. Emma’s book and blog have been an inspiration to me for many years. She speaks about her faith and her recovery from a life threatening eating disorder. Her posts are always very thought provoking
4. What is your dream job?

I am very blessed to be doing the jobs I always dreamed of ( I am a doctor and a Mum )
5. What is your favorite book?

The Bible. My second favourite book is The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom.
6. The best place you have visited?

Abel Tasman, New Zealand. My husband and I went on a canoe safari for 3 days, it was stunning.
7. A place you would love to travel to?

Italy, I would love to see Pompeii.
8. What is your favorite thing about yourself?

People tell me that my smile puts them at ease… I am happy if this is the case.
9. What is the best piece of advice you have ever received?

Sometimes the most courageous thing you can do, is to try again tomorrow.
10. What is one of your hidden talents?

Hmmm, not sure if I have any …not many people know that I play the piano and the flute.
11. How do you decompress after a stressful day?

Running to worship music, followed by Gilmore girls, a glass of wine and chocolate…..or more recently blogging!!
************************************************************************
11 Facts About Me
1. I was born in Yorkshire, England
2. My feet are so small I often wear children’s shoes!
3. As a child / teenager I was constantly told off for talking too much.
4. I once won a trip to Philadelphia by entering a recipe suggestion to a competition on the back of a Campbell’s soup tin. I had never actually made the recipe !!!
5. I have circumnavigated the globe by plane and coach in 6 weeks.
6. When I was growing up we used to go to Wimbledon to watch the tennis every year.
7. I love watching period dramas my all time favourite is the 6 hour BBC version of Pride and Prejudice. We walked out of church on our wedding day to the Pride and Prejudice theme tune.
8. I have climbed the 3 highest peaks in England, Wales and Scotland with my husband.
9. When my friend and I travelled to Australia we had to declare that we were entering carrying Tea and biscuits and the border staff laughed at us a lot!!(and let us take them in.)
10. I am the only member of my family who hasn’t been invited to the Queen’s garden party – my parents and my brother have been 😦
11. I do not like Marmite.

Questions for my nominees
1. What was your favourite book as a child?
2. Why do you blog?
3. What is your favourite blog, please provide a link?
4. Where would you like to travel to?
5. What is the favourite place you have visited?
6. If you could invite anyone currently living round to your house for a meal, who would it be and why?
7. What makes you laugh?
8. Describe one of your hidden talents?
9. Do you like marmite?
10. Have you ever been on an unexpected journey, what happened?
11. What is the best advice you have ever been given?

The Rules:
*Thank the blog that nominated you and link back to them.
*Make a blog post telling 11 facts about yourself.
*Answer the 11 questions from the blog that nominated you.
*Prepare 11 questions for those you will nominate.
*Nominate 11 bloggers who have less than 200 followers by commenting on one of their blog posts
More info: http://theglobalaussie.com/the-official-rules-of-the-liebster-award-2016/

 

6 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. It is so fun to read your answers. Some things we have in common: I also love “The Hiding Place”, have very small feet, and love watching period dramas, especially the 6 hour version of P&P. A great Friday evening includes wine, dark chocolate, and a new period drama (much to my kids dismay). Do you like the Anthony Andrews version of The Scarlet Pimpernel?
    So funny that you won a trip by entering a random recipe to a Campbell’s soup contest.
    What is marmite? And what is the Queen’s garden party? Burning questions over here:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So many similarities !!!
      So to answer your questions
      Marmite is a Yeast extract spread, I took a photo but can’t insert here for some reason, sorry! The advertising tag is that you either love it or hate it. In my family 2 love it and 3 hate it!

      More importantly, during the summer the Queen hosts garden parties at Buckingham Palace for specially invited guests. There is a strict dress code – top hat and tails for men and dress and hats for ladies. Most people don’t actually meet the Queen but can see her from a few hundred metres away.

      I haven’t seen that version of the Scarlet Pimpernel, most recently I have enjoyed the new BBC version of Poldark. The Cornish coast is a stunning backdrop for the story.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks for answering my questions☺. I don’ the know if marmite would fly in my house, but it would be interesting going to try. Our thing right now is lemon curd, so good on scones. Those garden parties look amazing. I can’t think of anything like that over here, especially in Oregon. Jeans and flannels are the way we roll😉. I would love to visit England some day.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh I hope you get to visit England, there are so many beautiful places to see. I would love to come back to the States. I have only been to Philadelphia and New York. I would love to see some of the rest….
            I love lemon curd, but no one else in the house does, so usually Starwberry jam on scones for me!!
            Love Jane xx

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

